1. Help Center
  2. Hiring, Onboarding & Terminating Employees

How to rehire an employee

If an employee already has a profile on GoCo and they come back to work, you should rehire their original file for your records.

There are two different ways to initiate a Rehire in GoCo! 

1. Initiating the Rehire from the Team Page

From the Team page, accessible from the menu on the left side of your screen, select + Add Person, then Rehire.

screely-1615406258411

Selecting Rehire will open up this window, in which you will select if the rehire is an employee or contractor, and search for the terminated employee in the search bar. The default hiring workflow will automatically be enabled based on your Employee/Contractor Selection.

screely-1615406578771

Once you have made the proper selections, click Start Hiring to be brought to the hiring workflow! From here, continue your normal new hire process, including any salary updates and reissuing an offer letter. 

2. Initiating the Rehire from the Employee Profile

To find a terminated employee profile, first go to your Team page. You can access this on your left menu in GoCo or from the Company page. From here, click on the Filter button to the left of the search bar and click on Terminated. This will include those employees in your search.

screely-1554997695992


After you locate the employee you want to rehire, click on their card to open their GoCo profile. On their Personal Information section you’ll notice an Actions button. If you click on this, you’ll be presented with several options, select the proper Rehire option for your situation (either Employee or Contractor). Either selection will retain some information gathered by GoCo from their original file.

screely-1615404690951

The Default hiring workflow will automatically be selected based on wether you choose employee or contractor. Clicking on Rehire will bring you to the hiring workflow in which you will input the new start date, manager, etc.

screely-1615404996926

 


From here, continue your normal new hire process, including any salary updates and reissuing an offer letter!

You will notice that the employee should have both a terminated file and a new, active employee profile on your team page. You're all set!

Once the employee gets their new onboarding link, they will be asked to re-onboard with GoCo. The good news is that it saves all of their personal information from their old profile and gives them a chance to make changes or leave it as is.

If the new profile you created has the same personal email on file (this is the default setting) they can use the password they've already created. If you change their email, GoCo will ask them to create a new password.

 

If you have any questions on this process, please feel free to email help@goco.io