At GoCo, transparency is one of our core values, and billing is no exception. So we developed an easy-to-understand, fair billing policy to make sure you're never surprised.
This article is for Companies using GoCo to manage their employees and contractors. If you're a GoCo Certified Partner, talk to your Partner Success Manager for information on how Partner billing works.
The Short Version
- When you add employees (contractors and non-employee admins don't count) to GoCo, we prorate any costs for that employee and add them to your next invoice.
- When you remove an employee partway through your billing cycle, we'll prorate the costs for that employee and apply a credit to your account.
- You will be billed for a minimum of 1 active employee, unless otherwise negotiated in your contract.
When you add employees to GoCo, we prorate any costs for that employee and add them to your next invoice. We do not include contractors or any non-employee users in your company's employee count.
For example, let's say you are on a monthly plan which costs $6 per month. You add an employee 10 days into your billing cycle, with 20 days remaining. We divide the monthly cost for an employee ($6) by the number of days in the billing cycle (30), and then multiply by the number of days remaining (20). On your next invoice, the prorated cost for the employee will be: $4
If you were paying annually (or quarterly), it would work the same way. You would pay for the remainder of the year (or quarter).
When you remove an employee partway through your billing cycle, either by terminating them or by deleting them, we'll prorate the costs for that employee and apply a credit to your account.
When you terminate an employee in GoCo, we'll ask you for their last day at work. Prorated credits are applied to your account the day following their last day at work. If you terminate an employee retroactively, the credits are applied the day after you enter the information into GoCo.
Credits for removed employees are not currency, have no exchange value, are not transferrable, and are not refundable. Any unused credits will expire if your account is deactivated.
For example, let's say you are on a monthly plan which costs $6 per month. You terminate an employee, and set their termination date to be the 9th day of your billing cycle. On the 10th day of your billing cycle, a credit will be applied to your account. We'll take the monthly cost ($6) divided by the total days in the billing cycle (30), and then multiply by the number of days remaining (20). On your next invoice, a credit for $4 will be applied.
Charges to your payment method
When you log into GoCo for the first time, we'll ask for your payment information if you're on a paid plan.
If your Benefits broker is a GoCo Certified Partner, your first charge will usually happen after they've finished adding your employees and benefits into GoCo. Your broker can tell you the exact date when your first charge will happen.
If you don't have Benefits on GoCo, your first charge will happen on the day when you upgrade to a paid plan.
You can also see charges on these days:
- The day when you upgrade to a higher plan or add other services.
- On the renewal date for your plan.
- On the last day of the month, if you are an annual or quarterly plan and have an outstanding balance.
- Anytime your account balance exceeds $1,000.
Charges from your broker
If your Benefits broker is a GoCo Certified Partner, they might provide products or services to you beyond what are ordinarily available in GoCo. Your broker can choose to include the costs for these products and services in the invoices that you receive from GoCo. Your broker might also pay the costs for some of the services that GoCo provides.
If you have questions about items on your invoice, talk to your broker.